Pumpkin Bread

What is there to say about pumpkin bread? Everybody loves it, right? I do. Everyone I talk to does. Let’s just get to the point. Pumpkin bread is the perfect thing to make at this time of year because it’s warm and spicy and delicious. It’s also really quick and easy to put together. I’ve made a loaf for two weeks in a row and probably going on a third. You’ll be making this weekly too. Assuming you can wait that long.

On a side note, I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted here, and I know I said that last time too. I’ll tell you now that it might be a while until the next update too, but once the holidays hit – I’M BACK BABY! I’m graduating in December and then I’m free! Well, actually, I have an internship for the spring then I’ll hopefully be starting grad school next year. But in the months between when I finish school and start school again, I’ll be baking like it’s my job (if only). So hold tight for a few months (scary!). I’ll see you again soon!

Pumpkin Bread
Adapted from Epicurious

 Ingredients

  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 1½ large eggs (beat the 2nd with a fork then pour half in)
  • ½ 16 oz. can solid pack pumpkin
  • 1½ cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ cup coarsely chopped walnuts (optional)
  • Turbinado sugar (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour a 9x5x3-inch loaf pans or 8×8-inch pan. Beat granulated and brown sugars and oil in large bowl to blend. Mix in eggs and pumpkin. Sift flour, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, baking soda, salt and baking powder into another large bowl. Stir into pumpkin mixture in 2 additions. Mix in walnuts, if using. Pour into pan and sprinkle the top with turbinado sugar, if using. Bake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour 10 minutes for loaf pan, or about 45 minutes for an 8×8 pan. Transfer to rack and cool completely.

Note: This recipe is halved from the original, which is why there are funky measurements for the eggs and pumpkin. Feel free to double.

Leave a Reply

