Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Remember that other birthday recpe that I mentioned earlier? Well, here it it. Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies. And here’s the story:

If you’re following along, you’ll know that last week I discovered that my cousin Amy would be in town from Florida just days before her birthday, so I decided to surprise her with a twist on her favorite dessert. As it turns out, my brother’s birthday was the same weekend and wouldn’t you know that he was coming in from out of town too! What kind of sister would I be if I made cookies for my cousin and not for my favorite/only brother? I decided to let him choose what he wanted, and he quickly decided that he wanted mint chocolate chip cookies. There was no recipe, just an idea. The only guideline: “does not necessarily have to be green.”

So off I went looking for a recipe for mint chocolate chip cookies. What we’re talking about here is a plain cookie (i.e. not chocolate) with mint and chocolate chips. Nearly every recipe I found was a riff on a traditional chocolate chip cookie with peppermint extra swapped for the usual vanilla extract and sometimes with green food coloring added. I know I can make chocolate chip cookies, but a certain brother of mine thinks I make them too thin. I love the thin chewy cookie with a crisp edge, but for the purpose of making my brother happy on his birthday I made them puffier. Still chewy, but not so thin.

Then I had a brilliant idea. I’m sure others before me have had this brilliant idea, but I’m going to enjoy it anyway. I decided I would use Andes as the chocolate chips. Brilliant, right? If you’ve never heard of or had Andes, you’re missing out. They’re melt in your mouth chocolates with a creamy mint layer in the middle and they are so good. So I bought one package of Andes (my mother was kind enough to painstakingly unwrap each one), and cut each candy into 4 pieces which ended up giving me about 1 cup of chips, which I then supplemented with regular chocolate chips. You can definitely use all chocolate chips, but the Andes added an extra minty kick to the cookie.

I’m happy to report that the cookies were a hit. They were exactly what my brother wanted. Mission accomplished.

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks softened butter
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1½ teaspoons peppermint extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 28-piece package of Andes Crème de Menthe candies
  • About ½ cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a small mixing bowl. In a large bowl beat together butter, sugars and peppermint extract until fluffy. Add eggs and beat again until combined.

Mix in the dry ingredients in 3 batches until the batter is completely combined. Stir in the Andes and chocolate chips.

Scoop dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 8-12 minutes until cookies are just golden brown around the edges, rotating once halfway through cooking time.

Makes about 40 cookies

Leave a Reply

